CUHK - Electronic Engineering - Programme Requirements
  • A student must take and pass 8 courses in this programme with a GPA of 2.0 or above to graduate.
  • A student will be discontinued from study if the student has a GPA below 1.0 or fails to have probation lifted after being put on academic probation for two consecutive terms of attendance (probation threshold . below 2.0).
  • The length of study is usually 1 academic year in full-time mode and 2 academic years in part-time mode. Each year has 2 terms.
  • Each course usually consists of 36 lecture hours and 6 hours of tutorials/hand-on training over a period of 14 weeks.
  • Subject to the approval of the Programme Directors concerned, students can take at most two courses from other M.Sc. Programmes within the Faculty of Engineering.
  • Full-time mode students are allowed to take other day time postgraduate courses offered by the Department of Electronic Engineering.
  • Students may apply for course and unit exemption for a maximum of 2 courses (6 units) subject to the approval of the Programme Director and the Dean of the Graduate School on a case-by-case basis, taking into account individual circumstances.

Award of Degree

Graduates will receive a Master of Science Degree in Electronic Engineering from The Chinese University of Hong Kong if satisfy the credit unit and GPA requirement.

Venue & Facilities

The classes will be held in weekday evenings in the University campus in Shatin. Through application, students can use various facilities and service in the Department of Electronic Engineering, and the University, e.g. computer laboratory and the University Library services.

The Department

The history of our department precedes the Faculty of Engineering. Its rich history has enabled the department to excel in all fronts. Over the past 45 years, we have nourished more than 3,600 graduates. Many of them are now in influential positions in their professions. We have been very successful in securing research funding to boost our research personnel to over 130 postgraduate students and 80 research staff.

Our staff maintains a good record of awards and decorations. First and foremost is the Nobel Prize awarded to our Founding Chairman Professor Charles Kao in 2009. Our present Chairman Professor Tsang Hon Ki received the Research Excellence Award in 2007. Professor Zhang Yuanting won the Hong Kong ICT Gold Award in 2008 and 2014 IEEE-SA Emerging Technology Award in 2014. Professor Wu Ke Li invented the first ever smallest Bluetooth module in 2005. Professor XU Jianbin received the Joint Research Fund for Overseas Chinese, Hong Kong and Macau Scholars funded by NSFC in 2009 and has been awarded a prestigious award of Cheung Kong Visiting Chair Professorship by the Ministry of Education of the People’s Republic of China. Professor XU Jianbin and Professor Tsang Hon Ki as well as their research teams have been awarded the 2nd prize of the Natural Science Awards 2014 by the Ministry of Education of the People’s Republic of China. We have six IEEE Fellows among us and our staff received Best Paper Awards in numerous occasions.